Black Box Theater, Center for the Arts
98th St & Logan Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55431

Show Information

September 14 – October 7, 2018
Directed by Benjamin McGovern

The Berger family is at home in the Bronx, unaware that everything is about to change...forever. In this classic drama by Clifford Odets, idealist family patriarch Jacob wrestles with the staunch realism of his daughter, Bessie, whose economic anxiety fills every corner of the tiny apartment shared by three generations. But even the Great Depression can't shake the youngest members of the Berger family, who are certain that a better tomorrow is just beyond the horizon. Awake and Sing! is a timely story of how far a family will go to ensure that every generation secures a brighter future. With its beautiful, distinctive language, this play reveals why Odets became an inspiration for writiers like Arthur Miller, Neil Simon, and so many others who followed.

To purchase tickets for the Ticketed Preview on September 14th click here
Tickets for the Pay What You Can performance on September 24th click here

Dates available Time Purchase
Saturday, September 15, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Sunday, September 16, 2018 2:00pm Purchase
Thursday, September 20, 2018 7:30pm No seats remaining
Friday, September 21, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Saturday, September 22, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Sunday, September 23, 2018 2:00pm Purchase
Thursday, September 27, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Friday, September 28, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Saturday, September 29, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Sunday, September 30, 2018 2:00pm Purchase
Thursday, October 4, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Friday, October 5, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Saturday, October 6, 2018 7:30pm Purchase
Sunday, October 7, 2018 2:00pm Purchase